50 years since inaugural ONSW meeting

Last Updated: Thursday, 24 March 2022 20:53

Today is 50 years since the first meeting of what became the Orienteering Association of NSW.

The inaugural committee, elected at Frenchs Forest on March 24, 1972 was:
President: Peter Nicholls
Secretary: Kathy Williamson 
Treasurer: Kathy Williamson
Vice-Presidents: Toy Martin, Dave Lotty
PR Officer: Rod Dominish
Committee Members: Dick Mountstephens, Ian Hassall, Brian Wright

Curiously, the meeting also resolved that the Norwegian Ambassador be Patron of the Association, 'subject to formal approval'.

You can read the minutes here.

The first committee meeting was just five days later on March 29, 1972.