Course Setter of the Year

The annual Course Setter of the Year Award (the Graeme Mitchell Trophy) is awarded on the basis of competitor voting via an online survey.

For each State League or national event set by an ONSW member, a separate online survey will be made available on this page and all competitors will be able to undertake the survey. Surveys will remain open for a restricted time after each event, after which they will be closed and results collated.

The award will be presented at the annual Orienteering NSW awards in November.

 The 2022 events that count to the trophy are:

# Date Map Event Format Course Setter Survey
1 19 Mar Ourimbah Sprint Nick Dent  Closed
2 20 Mar Richmond Vale  Middle Stephen Craig  Closed
3 9 Apr Kooringle Middle Eric Baker  Closed
4 10 Apr Pine Tree Long  Nathan Jeffery
Don Barker
5 14 May Wyangala Dam Middle Rebecca George  Closed
15 Apr Roseberg  Long James Lithgow  Closed
11 Jun Little Burngoogee  Middle Ewan Shingler
Duncan Currie  
9 13 Jun CSU  Sprint Jack Janetzki  Closed
10 9 Jul Mackillop College Sprint James Stevenson  Closed
11 10 Jul Broken Bago Middle Dan McLachlan Closed
14a 3 Sep Cherrybrook HS / John Purchase PS Sprint Rochelle Cox  Closed
14b 3 Sep Hills Grammar  Sprint Ian Jessup  Closed
15 4 Sep Scheyville NP Middle Peter Annetts  Closed
16 5 Nov Noahs Ark Ridge Middle Terry Bluett Closed
17 6 Nov Mullion State Forest Long Basil Baldwin Closed


Previous Winners of the Graeme Mitchell Trophy

Year Course Setter Club
2022 Terry Bluett BN
2021 Anna Fitzgerald  GS
2020 not awarded  
2019 Alastair George BF
2018 Colin Price CC
2017 Matt and Barbara Hill  BH
2016 Bruce Meder BB
2015 Ross Barr GO
2014 Josh Blatchford / Matthew Parton NC / GS
2013 Robert Bradley WH
2012 Denis Lyons NC
2011 Ross Barr GO
2010 Nick Dent CC
2009 Karen Blatchford NC
2008 Terry Bluett BN
2007 Alex Davey WR
2006 Geoff Todkill NC
2005 Michael Davis WR
2004 Lyn Malmgron SHOO
2003 Lisa Lampe UR
2002 Eric Morris BN
2001 Deborah Cox BN
2000 Nick Wilmott UR
1999 Andrew Lumsden BF
1998 Jean Baldwin GS
1997 Kevin Williams WHO




Major Events

 Schedule 2022 - 2026

Event Series

NSW State League

MetrO League



West Orienteering Series