WOC Representatives

World championships were conducted every two years from 1966-2001. From 2003 they have been held annually. Australia hosted the 1985 event at Bendigo.

The best performances by ONSW members at "WOC" are:

Long - 17th Grant Bluett 2001

Middle - 13th Tracy Bluett 2005

Sprint - 8th Grant Bluett 2003

ONSW athletes have represented Australia at "WOC" as follows: 

Name Club Year(s)   Name Club Year(s)
Michael Billinghurst Big Foot 1989   Tracy Bluett  Bennelong Northside  1995-99, 2001, 2005 
Josh Blatchford Newcastle 2013   Jenny Bourne Waggaroos 1981-87
Grant Bluett Bennelong Northside  1993-2005   Felicity Brown Central Coast 2013-14
Stephen Craig KNOX 1993, 1997, 1999   Margaret Elcombe IKO 1976, 1978-79
Mark Darvodelsky Big Foot 1995   Mary Fien Big Foot 1995
Jock Davis Big Foot 1989-93, 1997   Georgina Macken Waggaroos 1993
Julian Dent Central Coast 2005, 2007-15   Toy Martin    Garingal  1974-76
Rod Dominish Bennelong 1972   Nea Shingler  Big Foot 2022
Terry Farrell Newcastle 1979-89   Ljubov Simson  Newcastle  1991-93 
Alastair George Big Foot 2022   Emily Sorensen Big Foot 2022
Dave Lotty Uringa 1974        
Eric Morris Bennelong Northside 2006        
John Oliver Waggaroos 1974-78         
Rob Preston Newcastle 2011        
Ewan Shingler Big Foot 2022        
Rob Vincent Newcastle 1983-87        
Chris Wilmott Uringa 1976        


Please let us know if this table needs updating.

Mountain Bike Orienteering

World championships have been held annually since 2002. Australia hosted the 2004 event at Ballarat.

The best performances by ONSW members at "MTBO WOC" are:

Long - 13th Mary Fien 2004

Middle - 16th Melanie Simpson 2008

Sprint - 28th Melanie Simpson 2010

ONSW athletes have represented Australia at MTBO world championships as follows: 

Name Club Year(s)   Name Club Year(s)
Glen Charlton Newcastle 2017-18   Cath Chalmers Big Foot 2008 
Anthony Darr Mountain Devils 2004-05    Mary Fien Mountain Devils  2004-05, 2010 
Paul Darvodelsky Mountain Devils 2006-08     Melanie Simpson Newcastle  2008, 2011-12
Tim Doman  Newcastle  2019        



Major Events

 Schedule 2022 - 2026

Event Series

NSW State League

MetrO League


West Orienteering Series